Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bryant celebrates 2019-20 with virtual Awards Banquet

Bryant celebrates 2019-20 with virtual Awards Banquet

Watch On NEC Front Row

SMITHFIELD, R.I. – The Bryant University Department of Athletics celebrated another exceptional year with a virtual awards banquet that was aired on 

Bryant honored its outstanding student-athletes as Meghan Dalton (women's soccer), Alaina Scifo (women's swimming and diving), Alexa Weber (women's lacrosse) and Emily Cluck (track and field) were awarded Female Athlete of the Year honors. Alex DaCosta (men's soccer), Robert Brown (football), Matthew Mays (men's swimming and diving), Marc O'Rourke (men's lacrosse) and Wilson Dong (men's tennis) were named Male Athletes of the Year. Adam Grant (men's basketball) received the Ronald K. Machtley Career Award, while Sydney Holloway (women's basketball) was named the Kati Machtley Career Award winner. 

Dalton put together an outstanding season in goal, earning NEC Co-Goalkeeper of the Year honors. She became the first major award winner in DI program history after posting a 0.78 GAA that led the NEC and set a DI program record. Dalton allowed just four goals in 10 league games and her six shutouts were also a DI program record. 

Scifo was a key reason why Bryant women's swimming and diving won its third-straight NEC title this winter. She scored 57 out of a possible 60 points at the championship meet, winning individual gold medals in the 100 and 200 back. Scifo also was a part of three gold medal-winning relay teams.

Weber had posted 20 goals and three assists in six games before her season was cut short. She was ranked second in the NEC in goals per game and fifth in points per game. The highlight of her short season came at UMass Lowell when she scored a single-game program record nine goals. 

Cluck was one of the best 400 runners in all of New England this past year. She ranked as one of the fastest in New England for the majority of the year and successfully defended her NEC title in the 400 as well. Cluck not only defended her title, but she broke both the school and meet record in the process. 

DaCosta made an immediate impact during his only season with the Black and Gold, posting six goals and five assists for a team-leading 17 points. He led a Bryant squad that won eight games, including wins over UMass and Brown, and advance to the NEC Tournament for the second-straight year. DaCosta's five assists were a DI program record, while his 17 points were one shy of the record. 

Brown wrapped up his Bryant career with 108 tackles last fall, the second-most in a single season in program history. He became just the third different player in school history to record 100+ stops in a year, finishing the season 14th nationally in total tackles per game. 

Mays scored 54 out of a possible 60 points at the MAAC Championships this winter. He won gold in the 200 IM and earned silver medals in both the 100 and 200 back events. Mays set school records in both the back events and also helped Bulldogs win two relay gold medals. 

O'Rourke was on pace for one of the best offensive seasons in Bryant Lacrosse history before the season ended abruptly. He was coming off back-to-back seven-goal outings against Stony Brook and No. 5 North Carolina and finished the year with 26 goals and seven assists. O'Rourke's seven goals are a DI program record, while his 26 for the year ranked him fourth nationally.

Dong took over the No. 1 spot for the men's tennis team this year and put together an outstanding performance. He won 12 matches, including a monumental victory over Dartmouth. He also added victories against FDU, Georgia Southern, East Carolina and Tulsa. 

Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Matthew Stafford, men's golf
Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jacklyn Sullivan, women's cross country and track and field
Nassaney Bulldog Cup: Women's Basketball
FAR Award for Academic Improvement: Softball
Academic Excellence Award: Volleyball
Boulet Award for Academic Achievement (4.0s): Matthew Stafford, men's golf; Victoria Newbill, field hockey; Matt Caruso, football; Cayla D'Amico, women's soccer; Meghan Dalton, women's soccer; Stephanie DeCarli, track and field; Jamie Fischer, women's lacrosse; Kelly Jacobsen, women's lacrosse; Rebecca Michaud, women's soccer; Colby Norris, softball; Matthew Steeves, football; Alex Ralph, women's soccer; Samuel Bullock, track and field; Kirstyn Sperry, volleyball; Alex Parent, football; Matteo Toti, men's soccer; Alexander Schou, men's tennis; Kevin Sullivan, men's swimming and diving; Remi Manna, women's soccer; Megan Tan, women's tennis; Andrew Warfield, men's golf; Ryan Dobrzynski, men's lacrosse; Nick Lorenz, men's tennis; Gianna Ceccarelli, softball; Nicole Zukowski, softball; Katie Clark, women's lacrosse; Madison Henry, women's lacrosse; Manuela Estrada Gomez, women's tennis; Leanne Kendall, women's tennis; Matthew Mastroianni, men's swimming and diving; Erin Doruska, women's swimming and diving; Katelyn Kirves, women's swimming and diving; Riley James, volleyball; Abigail Rae, volleyball; Jaden McCarthy, women's soccer; Amanda Spitaleri, women's soccer
Coaches' Award: Compliance Team (Beth Wandyes, Mike MacDonald, Maddie Derosia)
12th Man Award: Ron and Kati Machtley
Peter Sullivan Award: Steve Cowen and Joan Waters
NCAA Woman of the Year: Alyssa DiFiore, women's swimming & diving
Omar Shareef Spirit Award: Robert Brown, football
William T. O'Hara Leadership Award: Maggie Pressler, women's lacrosse; Jack Horan, men's lacrosse
Strength and Conditioning Award: Kylie Ratelle, women's soccer; Vincent Nisivoccia, football
Bulldog Cup MVP: Jamie Irwin, women's soccer; Arin Smalls, women's soccer; Ben Myers, football

Women's Cross Country: Jacklyn Sullivan
Men's Cross Country: Jordan Dagrin
Field Hockey: Taryn Rauff
Men's Soccer: Zachary Valckenaere
Women's Soccer: Alex Spangler
Volleyball: Erika Ward
Football: Jesse Nemerowicz
Men's Swimming and Diving: Matthew Mays
Women's Swimming and Diving: Alyssa DiFiore
Men's Track and Field: Turner Davis
Women's Track and Field: Emily Cluck
Men's Basketball: Michael Green III
Women's Basketball: Brooke Bjelko
Men's Tennis: Guido Argentini
Women's Tennis: Arianna Oropeza
Golf: Connor Henderson
Baseball: Mason Palmieri
Softball: Gabi Ermish
Men's Lacrosse: Jake Fiske
Women's Lacrosse: Megan McCarthy